Skip to content

Blue Devil wrestlers end regular season on high note

Sault Area High School team goes undefeated at Pellston Invitational, sets sights on Regionals

The Sault High Blue Devil Wrestling Team finished off their regular season on Saturday, sweeping all of their opponents at the Pellston Invitational.

First up was Pellston, who they beat with a score of 39-12. Blue Devils with wins were Wyatt Peabody (120), Caleb Klier (132), Isaac Niebuhr (138), Will Ohman (144), Cody Russo (157), Michael Morse (175), and Sawyer Kuenzer (285).

Their next opponent was St. Ignace, with a winning score of 45-24. Winners were Peabody, Klier, Niebuhr, Brett Siesel (150), Morse, Calvin Aldrich (190), and Callen Campbell (285).

Next on the schedule was Inland Lakes, where the Sault came out on top with a score of 45-18. Winners against the Bulldogs were Klier, Niebuhr, Ohman, Siesel, Tim Garland (157), Russo, Aldrich, and Kuenzer.

The Blue Devils easily beat Onaway 51-6, with wins by Peabody, Klier, Ohman, Siesel, Russo, Garland, Morse, Aldrich, and Campbell.

The last match of the day was the closest against the Cheboygan Chiefs, but the Sault still came out on top with a score of 35-30. Peabody, Klier, Ohman, Siesel, Garland, Russo, and Aldrich helped their team seal the deal on their tournament victory. Caleb Klier and Will Ohman received medals for going 5-0 on the day as well.

The team has had a very successful season, with a team match record of 23-7. The wrestlers have shown a tremendous amount of growth over this season, with several first year wrestlers on the team.

The Blue Devil grapplers will head to Marquette on Thursday for team district competition against Escanaba and Marquette, with the hopes of extending their season and advancing to Regionals.

On Saturday, the Sault will travel back down to Gaylord for individual district competition. The top four wrestlers in each weight class of this tough pool will advance to individual regional competition.

The team is coached by Jacinto Arreola, Brendin Cryderman, Gordi Campbell, and Matt Vieira.